02 Graus and its surroundings2018-10-04T12: 23:14+00:00

Route 02

Graus and its surroundings

“And also here, already years ago, we listened to the “Albadas for the first time” and speak of the Aragonese bagpipe”

Greater place of Graus

We cross the Congosto de Olvena. Two medieval bridges are raised on the river, the Bridge of the Devil and the Bridge of Hell, and raised in the rocky cliff the locality of Olvena is seen. After crossing several tunnels we occur of blow with the reassuring view of the Marsh of Barasona and high Pyrenean mountains to the bottom. The Turbón and the Cotiella tip form the perfect frame to be approaching to us, bordering the marsh by the A-139, until Graus, in the confluence of the rivers Ésera and Isábena. From the tourist point of view everything is charming. But not always it is thus when waters it is spoken in high earth.
Before arriving at Graus the medieval town of the Puebla can be visited de Castro and the near Roman deposit of Labitolosa in the hill Calvary. The greater altarpiece of the parochial church of the Puebla de Castro is a magnificent work of the s. XV. It comes from the Romance hermitage of San Roman, in the depopulated one of Castro, place that offers beautiful a panoramic one of congosto of Olvena. In its interior, the hermitage shelters a choir that raises itself on a policromada wood panelled ceiling of Mudejar style of the s. XIV – XV.

José Antonio says to us who “Graus is a place to pause, to cross it and to chat with its people”. Capital of the region of the Ribagorza, is joint historical – artistic and in her several museums as the Space Pyrenean, House can be visited Alpaca, dedicated to the popular celebrations and traditions, the native house of Joaquín Costa, and the Museum of the Icons. This museum is in the Sanctuary of the Virgin of the Rock, raised in a crag. Its origin goes back to century XIII although it is in the s. XVI when it acquires his present form. Arrived here, if we want to have a vision of the set that forms valleys of the Ésera and Isábena and the Pyrenean one is necessary to show itself to the viewpoint of the Rock of the Pouch.

The highway, that takes the name here from Joaquín Costa street, crosses Graus. To the entrance of the city, to the right, it receives the Bridge to us of Down on the Ésera, of the s. XVI. We arrive until the central roundhouse where the monument to Coast rises and we took the street Precipice until the Portal from Linés, one from the old access doors that had Graus. We wander about until giving with the Greater Place, one of most beautiful of Aragon.

Back from the roundhouse we took the A-1605 to follow our route following the course of the Isábena. Soon we reached the locality of Capella where it waits for a magnificent medieval bridge to us, that we can cross on foot and be shown to waters of the river from the stop of his central arc. To the bottom, the stone Turbón, “that God that in each bend of the way will come to you to salute with the same sobriety that does it the people of this way”. To the other side of the bridge, a signalized way invites to most bold reaching the rock hermitage of San Martin under the Tozal of the Soldau, where to enjoy the spectacular views of the confluence of the Ésera once again the Isábena.

Photographic gallery

We emphasize

Place of Graus Major

Surrounded by support to them, this place is one of most beautiful of Aragon. In the thresholds that form their means arcs point, ogival and thresholds the retailers settled who approached to participate in the markets. The Greater Place was realised in the s. XVI and in her houses of Renaissance and neoclassical style with facades are concentrated rich guinea fowl. The City council, the Heredia House (present headquarters of the Region), the Bardaxi House, the House of the Baron, the House Cap and the Loscertales House are the most representative buildings.

Bridge of Capella

The denominated Romanesque bridge of Capella, dated in the s. XIII and XIV, are considered one of most important of the Ribagorza. It is constructed in sillar and their structure seven arcs compose it, with put in stems, reaching high altitude in their center.